The Astounding Finalists Of The a hundredth Archibald Prize

The Archibald Prize began in 1921 and has steadily grown to develop into Australia’s most celebrated artwork award. It reached new heights final yr, with a file variety of entrants and First Nations winners in every of the Archibald, Wynne, Sulman and Packing Room awards. Vincent Namatjira’s win marked the primary time within the prize’s 99 yr historical past an Indigenous artist had taken out the highest honour.

This centenary yr heralds one other first for variety, with gender parity achieved among the many shortlisted entrants. From the 52 finalists, 26 are girls and 26 are males, with girls making up the vast majority of portrait topics.

One among these works was a portrait of musician Kate Ceberano by Kathrin Longhurst, which has been awarded this yr’s Packing Room Prize. Different topics of distinguished Australian figures embrace Australian of the 12 months Grace Tame, artist Del Kathryn Barton, Arrernte and Kalkadoon filmmaker Rachel Perkins, actor Firass Dirani, and presenter and refugee advocate Craig Foster.

A lot of TDF favorite artists had been on the shortlist – Sally M. Nangala Mulda, Karen Black, Thea Perkins, Julian Meagher, Sally Ross and extra – in addition to an entry from final yr’s Wynne Prize winner, Marikit Santiago, made in collaboration along with her seven-year-old daughter and a vibrant self-portrait by artwork therapist Kirthana Selvaraj.

The winner of the Archibald, Wynne and Sulman prizes shall be introduced on Friday June 4th.

The shortlisted works shall be on exhibition at Artwork Gallery of New South Wales from 5 June to 26 September 2021, after which it should journey to 6 regional galleries in NSW and Victoria from October. Discover out extra info right here.

Source link